Minutes of the Mississippi Bandmasters Association Meeting Date: December 9, 2011

Call to Order: A regular meeting of the Mississippi Bandmasters Association was held at the Natchez Convention Center on December 9, 2011. The meeting was called to order at 3:00pm by MBA President Jay McArthur. There were approximately 275 regular members in attendance. Bryan Jefferson gave the invocation.

Approval of Minutes: A motion was made to approve the minutes of the August 20, 2011 meeting. Motion carried.

Financial Report: 1st VP Clay Fuller gave the treasurer's report.

Awards and Recognitions: Toni Reece presented the A.E. McClain award. Stephanie McArthur presented the Edythe McArthur award. Bill Lee presented the Phi Beta Mu Director of the Year awards. Jay McArthur recognized the Sweepstakes Winners for 2010-2011 and 2011 State Marching Band Champions.

Clinic Reports: Reuben McDowell reported on the exhibit area and vendors. He also gave a report on the required music selection process.

Member-at-Large Bryan Jefferson gave a report on clinic auditions and thanked those that helped.

2nd VP Reuben McDowell reported on the exhibit area and vendors. He also gave a report on the music selection committee.

Mr. Willie Rigdon, housing chairman for State Clinic, spoke about the clinic registration process as well as check out procedures.

John Emerson spoke about CEUs as well as the Mississippi Charities Act of 2009.

3rd VP Sid McNeil spoke about communication concerning the MBA website and yahoo group. He also spoke about the Zoomerang survey pertaining to state clinic.

President Jay McArthur spoke about the dates for the next calendar year. He also spoke about the number of selections and the guidelines for choosing selections for state concert evaluation.

Jeff Cannon reported on the MS Lion's Band, recognized the 2012 Lion's Band staff, and revealed that the 2012 Band would travel to Hawaii.

Mr. Bill Lee gave a report on Phi Beta Mu and spoke about the mentorship program.

President Jay McArthur reported on the Honor Band Award Recognition and established a committee for this:

Travis Coakley, Biloxi, 6A Len Killough, Oxford, 5A Vance Wigginton, Pontotoc, 4A, Chair Toni Reece, Aberdeen, 3A Jill Shumaker, Enterprise, 2A Jennifer Cook, Stringer, 1A

President McArthur spoke about redoing the concert evaluation sheet.

Business From the Floor

There was no business from the floor.

Announcements were made, door prizes were distributed and the meeting adjourned at approximately 4:25PM.